Home  |  Authors  |  Books  |  Stories 
   T h e   B a l d w i n   P r o j e c t
     Bringing Yesterday's Classics to Today's Children                 @mainlesson.com
Search This Site Only
The Red Indian Fairy Book by  Frances Jenkins Olcott

Look inside ...
[Purchase Paperback Book]
The Red Indian Fairy Book
by Frances Jenkins Olcott
A choice collection of Native American myths and legends carefully selected from many sources. Most are nature stories telling about birds, beasts, flowers, and rocks of our American meadows, prairies, and forests. The tales are arranged according to the seasons with several stories offered for each month of the year. There are some for early spring, when the maple sap mounts, and the arbutus blooms under the snow; for later spring, when the birds nest, and the wild flowers blow; for summer, with its heat, storms, fishing, and canoeing; for autumn with its corn, nuts, and harvest feast; for winter, with its ice, snow, and adventures. A comprehensive subject index for use by teachers and storytellers is included.  Ages 8-12
304 pages $12.95   




Ahneah the Rose Flower
Bad Wild Cat
The Birds' Ball-Game
The Boy in the Jug
The Boy in the Moon
The Boy Who Became a Robin
The Brother and Sister
The Chestnut Kettle
Coyote the Hungry
Coyote the Proud
The Discontented Rock
The Elves
The Firebird
The First Pine Trees
The Hidden Waters
How Indian Corn Came into the World
How Maple-Sugar Came
How Master Rabbit Went Fishing
How Partridge Built the Birds' Canoes
How the Fairies Came
How the Four Winds Were Named
How the Hunter Became a Partridge
Jowiis and the Eagles
The Kind Hawk
The Land of the Northern Lights
Leelinau the Fairy Girl
Legend of Niagara and the Great Lakes
Legend of the Morning Star
Legend of the Trailing Arbutus
Legend of the Violet
Little Burnt-Face
The Little Corn-Bringer
Little Dawn Boy and the Rainbow Trail
Little Owl Boy
The Magic Windpipe
The Meadow Dandelion
The Mikumwess
Mishosha or the Enchanted Sugar-Maple
The Mud Pony
The Noisy Chipmunk
The Nuts of Jonisgyont
Pitcher the Witch and the Black Cats
The Poor Turkey Girl
The Rolling Rock
The Silver Brooches
The Singing Maidens
The Sky Elk
The Snow Man
The Spirit of the Corn
The Spring Beauty
The Star and the Water Lilies
The Star Bride
The Star Maiden
The Summer Fairies
The Ugly Wild Boy
Why Wild Roses Have Thorns
Why the Turkey Gobbles
The Wind-Blower
The Wishes
The Woodpecker Girls
Woodpecker Gray

 Table of Contents  |  Index  |  Next: Table of Contents
Copyright (c) 2000-2018 Yesterday's Classics, LLC. All Rights Reserved.